Poem a Day Challenge #42 (Always Descending)

Posted on Updated on

A very old one as we have a ton of work to do tonight. I have done some work on it though. I’ll try and do a longer one soon to make up for these odd “cheats”

Always Descending

By Scott Bailey © 2002

Always descending, never ascending.
Moving downwards, moving down.
I can’t get used to this feeling
Moving downwards, moving down.
Is it really like this? What are we doing?
Do we really want this?
Is this the thing to be?
The chains that pull the valves and the levers,
That drive the steam through pipes of dreams.
Dream worlds falling, morning calling,
Pull the chains on, shoulder the yoke.
Down to business. Down to labour.
Moving downwards, moving down.
I don’t like this, what am I doing?
I don’t really want this, what is to be?
Enter the shaft that takes us downwards.
The light is dimming as our dreams descend.

Get the previous ones here

http://wp.me/P3kG6h-bb

Leave a Reply

