Posted in Blogging101, Poetry, Writing

Themes – (blogging101 – day #5)

Today’s task was to look at different themes for the blog.

I have done this – I do it quite often – but have decided to keep my current one. There are plenty out here I like but like the one I have for now. But what do I look for in my theme?

Well I like to keep my blog clean and simple. I want my content to shine and not to distract from it. This isn’t right for everyone’s blog mind you. There are plenty out there were a more  bright, frantic theme better suits the energy and liveliness conveyed by the blogger. And i enjoy looking at and reading that kind as well. But mine – I need it calm and simple – and functional.

One of the important things I look for is what features the theme has. I need it to not interfere with the layout of my posts too much – especially for the poetry posts. I also do not like the hidden menus that many themes seem to have now. I want the menu to be a prominent part of my blog  – so it can inform the reader of what is available – which sections there are. It also make it easier for visitors to find the right content. I think this is important for me as I have several distinct areas. Those interested in ready poetry may not have any interest in our adoption journey and vice versa,

Anyway – that’s my thoughts on today’s task.



Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

One thought on “Themes – (blogging101 – day #5)

  1. I like this theme. I agree, I want the menu to “be there” and not have to be searched for, or have people click on some symbol or image to see what it does. . .
    Still looking at themes. . .


Leave a Reply

