Posted in Creative Writing, Science Fiction, Self Publishing, Writing

Self Publishing – the Downside

I love the whole self-publishing world. I have embraced and become a part of it.

It has given me and many more like me a voice in the world. It has allowed us to bypass the gatekeepers at the submissions desk and reach an audience – however small.

However, there is a downside. Not a huge one but I have encountered it recently.

As I am trying now to concentrate on short stories – not very successfully so far – I thought it was high time I read a few more. So jumped onto my Kindle App on my tablet – entered a search for Science Fiction Short Stories.

I swear – 99% of the results showed a half-naked man or woman. In other words, 99% of them were erotica!

Talk about getting a whiff of success and jumping on the bandwagon!

Don’t get me wrong – I have been known to read and enjoy a bit of erotica. But so much! Too much!

Thankfully Google was more helpful.

I settled on this:

I haven’t read any of his work apart from Good Omens but there seems to be a good vibe around it. I’ll give it a go.



Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

2 thoughts on “Self Publishing – the Downside

Leave a Reply

