Posted in General



By Scott Bailey © 2015

This is my tithe
The part of my life
That I give to my lord
To survive

My uses are his
My flesh and my blood
So I am here
On this field

Shoulder to shoulder
With my fellow men
Shields edge to edge
Spears raised

For the right to go on
Feed my wife and my son
To stave hunger away
One more year

Death faces us down
With it’s bloodstained gown
As the line ahead draws
Ever closer

The enemy jeers
Clashing their spears
Moving their wall
Close to ours

And I see in their eyes
They are bound by their tithes
To kill for their lord
Just like me

View original post


Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

Leave a Reply

