Posted in Creative Writing, Fiction, General, Poetry, Self Publishing, Short Stories, Writing

Tracking Writing Submissions

I am intending to try and submit to more sites, competitions and markets from this point on. Trying to get more organised and wondering if anyone had come across any good software to use to track submissions? I am going to use a spreadsheet to start with – can’t really see anything out there having searched. I am tempted to write something myself but that would eat up writing time – which I have precious little of.

What does every else do?


Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

7 thoughts on “Tracking Writing Submissions

  1. Hi,
    Not so much of a interactive way to keep track, like a pedometer would be, but I did dabble with the following to try to have lists and dates of submissions, with planning options too.

    Job Organizer

    They may be a close enough solution for you🙂


    1. Hi – thanks for taking the time to comment. I have decided for now to use a combination of Spreadsheet and Calendar. I am on Linux so most of the usual programs are not available to me. However, I have long been google advocate as everything is available everywhere not matter what platform.

      For now, I am putting all the closing dates for competitions I am interested in on a dedicated Google calendar with email reminders sent out at regular intervals. I have also set up a folder structure within Google drive to organise the actual work. That way I can dip into and write little bits wherever I am – either by PC, tablet or phone.

      As I submit pieces I will record that on a spreadsheet.

      The whole thing is crying out for an online database driven web application – which I am capable of creating – just don’t have the time🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

