Posted in Creative Writing, Fiction, General, Short Stories, Writing

Writing Progress and Pitfalls

Well, some progress is being made.

I have had both a poem and a short story accepted on a new local writers website – to be published later this year.

I also completed my first short story entry tonight. Edited and double checked it. Went to submit it and double checked the terms and conditions – only to find I had misread or missed completely the word count. I am 700 words short.


I still have a week.

But now I am having second thoughts. Another point is that the winners and shortlisted authors may be required to take part in media events. Considering its based on the other side of the world that may present an issue.

Then again, if I can make up the shortfall maybe I should throw concerns to the wind and go for it.


Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

One thought on “Writing Progress and Pitfalls

Leave a Reply

