Posted in General

Self Publishing Ups and Downs


Well, it’s only been a week since I venture onto Smashwords so this is probably premature – but…

Emotionally it’s been up and down. I was elated that I got through to the premium catalogue on the first attempt – gives me confidence that I have the technical skills at least!

Seeing my book in the Nook store and on IBooks have me a real pleasure.

On the Smashwords dashboard, I see that 14 people have sampled the book already and over 100 pages read.

However, 0 sales.

That’s making me feel despondent. I thought that maybe I just wasn’t reaching anyone through Amazon Kindle. That my feeble marketing attempts just weren’t going anywhere.

Now? It seems that it’s getting noticed – but after reading some of it, they are not buying it to read the rest.

What do I have to do?

It’s hard to tell what’s going on though…

View original post 105 more words


Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

Leave a Reply

