Posted in Politics, Work

Where is my country?

The town where I work has – in the past – been the host of Asylum seekers – it is also a port of entry for visitors from abroad. It’s fair to say that it has seen its fair share of social tension.  Where I worked before that and lived for a while – Dover was even worse. The flashpoint of many a protest and news story.

In the nearly 15 years of living and working in this area – of working in the immigration sector – I have never seen – first hand any direct racial abuse.

Today – my first day back at work after Brexit – I saw it twice. Twice I saw people just shouting at other people who looked foreign – to go home.

To all those people who voted to get their country back – I am sorry – we seem to have mislaid it. Instead, we have imported the seeds of Nazi Germany.

Let’s all grow up a bit. Even while the politicians are backstabbing and playing chess with our lives – let’s show them we can do better.


Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

One thought on “Where is my country?

Leave a Reply

