Posted in Creative Writing, Poetry, Writing

Another Piece of Work Featured

and another volume of poems sold!

The writers community over at Thanet Writers have featured another of my works – this time a poem. Check it out here and check out the other talented writers there.

Advertisements
Posted in Creative Writing, Fiction, Self Publishing, Short Stories, Thirteen Tales, Writing

Still Available! Thirteen Tales.

It is with great excitement I announce the release of my latest book – Thirteen Tales (of Ghosts). Spread the word!

13talescoverc

A collection of short stories concerning ghosts. Some are traditional ghost stories in the tradition of M.R. James and Edgar Allan Poe. Other are not. Some scare, some are fun. Some play with the concept of a ghost. There are ghosts who are out for revenge and the living avenging the spirits that curse them.

Ideal for sitting around a campfire and late at night under the covers. Or maybe not if the stories themselves are any guide.

Check it out at Amazon and Smashwords and other online e-book retailers.

A paperback version os being worked on for those who prefer the feel of the paper while huddling by the fire – on your own – in the dark – with that noise behind you……

www.scottandrewbailey.uk

Posted in Creative Writing, Haiku, Poem a Day Challenge, Poetry, Self Publishing, Writing

A Spring of Dreams – Cross

recite-1782e6a

Senryu: Cross

By Scott Bailey © 2013

Fleeing from killers
The child runs desperately
To fill out a form.

www.scottandrewbailey.uk

Posted in Creative Writing, Fiction, Mankind Limited News, Politics, Science Fiction, Self Publishing, Writing

Read It! Don’t let it come to pass!

Humanity reduced to a bottom line.


Trapped. In a world where everything is measured and control pervades every area of life, four people begin to break down. Instead, they break through the walls of deceit and propaganda and into a world of revolution.

Each, in their way, vow to overthrow the established order. They embark on a journey against the forces arraigned against them, forces of state and self-doubt.

Ultimately their paths converge on a dangerous road and the discovery of an ancient secret.

One one level this is a story about how different people react the ever growing and relentless pressure of everyday oppression. It explores their journeys as they are broken and rebuilt and investigates their modes and motivations for rebelling.

At another level it is a critique on the darker side of capitalism and free markets and how that has driven us further and further away from the evolutionary advantage that gave us supremacy in the first place. It questions whether the human race has doomed itself or whether we still have the capacity to wrench ourselves from the track we have so tightly committed our society upon.

Read an excerpt here.

Available as

Kindle

or hardback

from Amazon

or CreateSpace

Now also available at Smashwords, IBooks, Barnes and Noble, Kobo and many other reputable outlets.

Posted in Creative Writing, Poetry, Writing

Over the Top

By Scott Bailey © 2006

 

 

The general’s orders are loud
Over the shattering shells
Through the mustard gas cloud
The general’s orders are loud
For privates timid and proud
We hear the tolling of bells
The general’s orders are loud
Over the shattering shells

And over the top once again
We face the thundering guns
We climb from our miry den
And over the top once again
A million war weary men
All scared but nobody runs
And over the top once again
We face the thundering guns

They stand at the station and wait
For their heroes and lovers’ return
While praying they will not be late
They stand at the station and wait
With their hearts in a fluttering state
For news they are longing to learn
They stand at the station and wait
For their heroes and lovers’ return

www.scottandrewbailey.uk

Posted in Creative Writing, Poetry, Writing

Farewell

By Scott Bailey © 2006

I sit upon my bed alone.
Thinking thoughts of you.
My heart sinks slowly like a stone.
In a pool so blue.

The pain grows greater every day.
Need I make that cut?
Alas, it is the only way.
All other doors are shut.

So take the knife and cut me deep.
I know it must done.
Though this pain will make me weep.
Relief will soon be won.

So now at last I say goodbye.
I need you now no more.
You must believe me, I did try.
My efforts though, were poor.

We could no longer stay as one.
So you were cut away.
It was the only thing to be done.
To take the pain away.

Farewell, my dear appendix.

 www.scottandrewbailey.uk