Posted in Daily Prompt, Family, Health, Writing

Overwhelming

So today’s prompt is overwhelming. Couldn’t have been more appropriate. I wouldn’t say it was the last straw but I can see the camel’s back straining.

I don’t know what is happening but there has been a constant stream of bad news after bad news. Money, work security, autism, and health issue after health issue. Spent the entire day at the hospital today with no real outcome as such.

Normally I would say this is exactly the time to write – the get it all out – but today I am just too tired for it – to try and write poetry anyway.

On the flip side – I am also overwhelmed by the support from the family rallying around and helping out – even though many of the health issue bearing down on us belong to them!

Need some good news – a chink of daylight – just to aim for right now.

In response to the daily prompt Overwhelming

#DailyPrompt

Author:

Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

5 thoughts on “Overwhelming

  1. I hope it helps to write something down and we can well imagine you have no energy for poetry or anything that requires thinking, but your humour still shines through. I’m not sure what is good advice except to accept any help going; when people offer to help they mean it; it is easier to help than feel helpless when a friend or relative is having problems.

    Like

  2. Wow, Scott!! Great post. You capture so well the overwhelming feelings that can come all at once and seem like a tsunami – something we are not usually prepared for. Loved your line – “I wouldn’t say it was the last straw but I can see the camel’s back straining.” I really enjoy your writing! So, great that you also included the overwhelming support! Very insightful and not something that everyone can do when they are being “overwhelmed”. 2016 was a bad year for us and we were glad to see it go. It reinforced the motto I keep threatening to put over the door – “It’s always something”.

    I have found for me it helps to look at someone else’s situation who is worse off and I start feeling thankful! The old, “it could’ve been worse” cliche. I am amazed at how some people cope with the “cards” they have been dealt with in life.

    I will rummage around and see if I can find a “chink of daylight” to help brighten things up! Thanks so much for following my blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

