Posted in Creative Writing, Daily Prompt, Music, Poetry, Science Fiction, Work, Writing

Red Sails

A few weekends ago the family and I took a walk along the coast – through some marshes. On the way, I took this photo.

My wife loved it so much  – I think mainly because it signified a wonderful day out – (we don’t have so many of those these days) – that she wants it blown up for her birthday. So it is on its way now as a canvas print 🙂

Anyway – when I saw the boat something about it was portentous to me. Not dangerous but promising big changes or something. I don’t know why. The thing is, a few days later I was doing a google search on my name. I wasn’t being narcissistic, I was trying to see if SEO changes on y website had made any difference. As usual, one of the top results was a solicitor in the south who goes by the same name. The odd thing was though -= they had this picture on their website,

Now, not the same boat – but spooky……

Then today – the daily prompt was sail.  I already had the title Red Sails buzzing around in my head – the rest came naturally.

Red Sails

By Scott Bailey © 2017

The red sails are rising
In the grey of the dawn
The grey spume is parting
Before the forlorn

Drawing out passion
Promising dreams
To the young and the lost
Into the sea they stream

The red sails are parting
Tearing apart
Lovers and mothers
From the vein of their hearts

The red sails are gone
Over the blue
Long is the draught
Of its bitter brew

The red sails are empty
Of all that they took
The decks all wiped bare
Dreams all forsook

The red sails are cursed
My mother’s onshore
But none will set sail
To settle the score

In response to the daily prompt Sail

#DailyPrompt, #amwriting

www.scottandrewbailey.uk

 

Author:

Scott Bailey is a freelance writer, author and blogger. His works include the dystopian novel “Mankind Limited” and “A Spring of Dreams” collection of poetry. His blogging ranges across family articles, poetry and short stories and even the odd book or movie review.

2 thoughts on “Red Sails

Leave a Reply

